Before you delete anything keep in mind that this action is not reversible. Anything that is not saved will be lost.
1. Go to Products.
2. Click on Categories.
3. Mark the category that you want to delete. You can select more than one category at a time. Then, click on the bulk edit menu and select Delete Category.
4. If there are currently products in the category you are trying to delete then you have the choice of either moving those products into another category or just deleting them. Make your choice by selecting one of the checkboxes.
If you move your products into another category you can set them to be inactive from within this menu. This is useful if you plan to move them into another category later.
Categories that have subcategories cannot be deleted. You will need to delete the subcategories first.
5. Click Delete.